February 7: Unity for Europe?


Written by Matthew Mendez, Historian

February 7, 1992 CE. The Maastricht Treaty is signed by twelve member countries of the European Community, resulting in the birth of the European Union. Taking place in the Dutch city of Maastricht, the treaty led to the creation of the Euro, a central banking system, and the three pillars structure of the European Union. The Maastricht Treaty also provided European Union citizenship for every citizen of a member state, therefore enabling people to vote and run for office in local and European-wide elections. Furthermore, the treaty reaffirmed the responsibility for member states to cooperate with one another concerning foreign and security policies as well as other major issues. The Maastricht Treaty ultimately laid the foundations for the modern day European community and provided some measure of reassurance to a historically divided and war-torn continent.